Search This Blog

Thursday, December 13, 2007

Naeole, Siavi'i best in West

The pilot of a potent air attack and the leader of a stalwart defensive unit were named as the top players in the O'ahu Interscholastic Association's Red Conference Western Division.

'Aiea quarterback Keenan Naeole was chosen as Offensive Player of the Year and Leilehua linebacker Robert Siavi'i was named Defensive Player of the Year after a vote of league coaches.

Naeole, a 5-foot-7, 160-pound senior, completed 124 of 218 passes (56.9 percent) for 1,521 yards and 10 touchdowns. He led the state in passing yardage for much of the season and was among the leaders in pass efficiency.

Siavi'i, a 6-2, 200-pound senior, headed a stingy defense that posted a shutout at Wai'anae and held 'Aiea to six points. He was effective at the line of scrimmage and also in pass coverage.

Wai'anae led the way with seven players selected to the OIA Red West all-star first team: running back Justin Kauwalu, offensive linemen Richard Nansen and Sunia Vaitai, defensive lineman Lesili Sekona and defensive backs Shandon Dias, Matt Ibanez and Bronson Panui.

'Aiea, Campbell, Kapolei, Mililani and Radford each placed three players. 'Aiea was represented by Naeole, wide receiver James Buchanan and offensive lineman Jeff Mauga.

Campbell placed running back Samson Anguay, offensive lineman Shane Gaui and defensive lineman Chris Fuga. Kapolei had utility player Mason Koa, defensive lineman Chad Lopati and linebacker Cyril Ontai selected.

Mililani was represented by wide receiver Taz Stevenson, offensive lineman Tyson Nishihara and defensive lineman Nick Ma'afala. Radford placed receiver Shawn Putman-Curry, defensive back Donniqtay Campbell and utility player Mosiah Manuma.

Leilehua linebacker Art Laurel rounds out the first team.

Darnell Arceneaux was named Coach of the Year after guiding Mililani to five straight victories and the division crown.

No comments: