Search This Blog

Friday, December 26, 2008

Manley, Keli'ikipi West's best

Waipahu's Saturnio voted by peers as Coach of the Year

Advertiser Staff

Already a seasoned veteran in his first full year of varsity football, Leilehua quarterback Andrew Manley flourished in the O'ahu Interscholastic Association's Red Conference Western Division.

Manley, a 6-foot-3, 215-pound junior, was named Red West Offensive Player of the Year after a vote of league coaches.

Manley burst upon the high school football scene late last season, after being called up from the JV during the OIA playoffs. He eventually led the Mules to OIA and state championships.

This year, with that unique experience under his belt, Manley tore up opposing defenses with his strong and accurate arm.

Entering the league playoffs, he completed 171 passes in 272 attempts (62.9 percent) for 2,115 yards and 15 touchdowns to help the Mules average 28.5 points per game and win the Red West title.

The one team to defeat Leilehua in the regular season, Wai'anae, was led by OIA Red West Defensive Player of the Year Wade Keli'ikipi.

As a well-built 6-foot-3, 280-pound defensive lineman, Keli'ikipi was a force despite often facing double-team blocking. He anchored a Seariders defense that allowed 16.2 points per game.

Wai'anae earned the Red West's No. 2 seed for the OIA playoffs.

Manley is one of five Leilehua players named to the Red West's all-star first team. The others are wide receivers Cheves Aberilla Ramento and Edieson Dumlao, offensive lineman Bronson Smithe and utility player Rico Newman.

Joining them on the first team offense are running backs Danny Kekoanui (Wai'anae) and Troy Matautia (Waipahu), receiver Taz Stevenson (Mililani) and linemen Josiah Chong Tim and Viliami Namoa (both Wai'anae), Stan Hasiak (Kapolei) and Benson Ma'afala (Mililani).

Others on the first-team defense are linemen Brad Iaulualo (Leilehua), Chad Lopati (Kapolei) and Nick Ma'afala (Mililani), linebackers Kalua Ellis (Leilehua), Chivas Paris (Wai'anae) and Zachary Quines (Mililani), and defensive backs Kaipo Entendencia (Mililani), Hoku Kama (Leilehua), Cyril Ontai (Kapolei) and Lyle Santiago (Kapolei).

Ontai was also selected as a utility player.

Waipahu's Sean Saturnio was named Coach of the Year after leading the Marauders to a playoff berth in their first year back in the OIA Red Conference following four seasons in the White.

Waipahu finished 3-3 in division play, including an upset at Wai'anae.

No comments: