Search This Blog

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Te'o-Nesheim Named To Bednarik Watch List

Aug. 13, 2009

Washington defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim is one of 55 players named to the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the nation's top defensive player.

Te'o-Nesheim, a senior from Waikoloa, Hawai'i, has started all 37 games of his UW career. Last year, he notched 65 tackles and led the Huskies with eight sacks and 11.5 tackles for loss.

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski today announced the 2009 Watch List the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award. The list is comprised of fifty-five players who were selected based on their performance during the 2008 season.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced on November 4th and three finalists for the award will be announced November 23rd. The winner of the 2009 Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala in Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

No comments: