Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Three Utes Named to Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List

Misi also makes Bronko Nagurski Watch List

Aug. 18, 2009

SALT LAKE CITY - Utah senior football players Zane Beadles, Koa Misi and Stevenson Sylvester have been named to the watch list for the Rotary Lombardi Award. Misi also made the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Linemen, tight ends and linebackers are eligible for the Rotary Lombardi Award, while the Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the nation's best defensive player.

Beadles--previously named to the Outland Trophy watch list and the preseason all-conference team--is preparing to start for a fourth season. He is Utah's only returning first-team all-Mountain West Conference player.

Misi has now made three watch lists, having earlier been named as a candidate for the Ted Hendricks Award, which honors the country's top defensive end. He was second-team all-conference a year ago and is a preseason all-league selection this fall.

No comments: