There was an error in this gadget

Search This Blog

Thursday, November 19, 2009

KIF football All-Stars unveiled

By David Simon - The Garden Island
Published: Thursday, November 19, 2009 3:10 AM HST
LIHU‘E — As is to be expected after an undefeated season, Kaua‘i High School had the majority of honorees among the Kaua‘i Interscholastic Federation football All-Stars, which were announced Wednesday by executive director Diane Nitta.

Quarterback Trey Shimabukuro was named Offensive Player of the Year. In his five KIF starts, Shimabukuro threw for 1,037 yards and 11 touchdowns. Teammate Cameron Largusa was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Fifteen other All-Star slots were filled by Red Raiders, giving the team 17 of the 26 honorees.

The offensive linemen are Aaron Victorino (Kaua‘i), Sean Shigematsu (Kapa‘a) Bryson Galiza (Kaua‘i), Ross Ozaki (Kaua‘i) and Kainoa Barino (Waimea).

Wide receivers are Taran Tani (Kaua‘i), Kalena Rodero-Workman (Kaua‘i), Awai Dejos (Kapa‘a) and Shea Shimabukuro (Kaua‘i).

Trey Shimabukuro was named as quarterback and backfield partner Paleku Yasay was chosen at running back. Yasay had 78 carries for 529 yards (6.8 YPC) and three touchdowns in league play.

Shea Shimabukuro was again named as the top kicker, with Jamen Kealoha-Albarado (Kaua‘i) as the special teams All-Star. Shea Shimabukuro, a junior, is the only underclassman on the offensive unit.

Kepa Naka‘ahiki (Kaua‘i), Daylin Huni (Kaua‘i), Josh Uhatafe (Kapa‘a) and Scot Sasan (Kaua‘i) were honored at defensive line.

The Kapa‘a Warriors were singled out for their impressive linebacker unit, nabbing two of the three slots with standouts Davin Chong and Kevin Cremer. Kaua‘i’s Travis Koga was named the third linebacker in this talented group.

It was a mixed bag in the secondary, with Kaua‘i’s Largusa and Kele Hanohano chosen at defensive back, alongside Kapa‘a’s Jon-Allen Apana and Waimea’s Alex Palacio.

Kaua‘i’s Kealoha-Albarado was again selected at punter.

Waimea’s Kaulana Waalani-Arroyo was placed in the All-Star utility spot. The Menehune’s leading rusher and receiver, as well as a top special teams and defensive player, was not identified at one position but was honored for his all-around success and versatility.

Kaua‘i head coach Derek Borrero, who has led his team to a 9-0 record, a KIF championship and a berth in the HHSAA Div. II state tournament, was the choice as Coach of the Year.

No comments: