Search This Blog

Sunday, January 03, 2010

Ho, Epenesa best of ILH

Kamehameha's Ryan Ho and 'Iolani's Seali'i Epenesa lead the 2009 Interscholastic League of Honolulu all-stars as the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

The selections were submitted by the ILH.

Kamehameha's David Stant was named Coach of the Year after leading his team to the Division I title.

Ho, a 5-foot-6, 175-pound senior running back, led the ILH in rushing with 1,515 yards and 20 touchdowns. He heads a contingent of nine Warriors named to the first team. Other Kamehameha players on the first team are receiver Blaise Cuban and lineman Blaze Ryder on offense, linemen Beau Yap and Koa Ka'ai, linebacker Kawika Stant and defensive backs Wave Ryder and Chaz Bajet on defense; and Brandon Marfil, a punter, on special teams.

The 6-2, 315-pound Epenesa, a senior, played defensive tackle, but also was used as an extra blocker in the back field on offense during short-yardage situations in helping the Raiders claim the Division II crown.

Other first-team Raiders are receiver Treyvn Tulonghari, offensive lineman Tiras Koon, linebacker Cody Petro-Sakuma and defensive back Andrew Skalman.

Pac-Five had six first-team picks, with two spots occupied by London Amorin (receiver and kick returner). Saint Louis and Punahou each had three selections each, while Word of Life and Damien had one player each.

No comments: