Search This Blog

Tuesday, December 06, 2011

All Simone Team

Print Comment
Eastern Jackson County was well represented on the second-annual All-Simone team that was announced Tuesday morning at Lee’s Summit West High School, the home of the 29th annual Simone Award winner, Titans offensive tackle Evan Boehm.
Blue Springs South quarterback/defensive back/punter/kicker Connor Harris, offensive lineman Trevor Wescott and linebacker Jake King joined Blue Springs wide receiver Deiondre Hall and Fort Osage nose tackle Tony Tanumai on the All-Simone team.
Harris, who played a big role in the Jaguars’ Class 6 state championship, also was a finalist for the Simone Award, which is given to the top big class football player in the metro area.
“I’m a little bummed I didn’t win,” Harris said, “but how can you argue with Evan winning it? He’s the best lineman in the country and a great guy. I would have loved to have won the Simone Award, but if I couldn’t win, I’m glad that someone like Evan did win it.”
Tanumai was a finalist for the Buchanan Award, which is given to the area’s top defensive lineman. Boehm also won that award, for the second year in a row. Hall was a finalist for the Taylor Award, which is given to the area’s top wide receiver, but that was awarded to Tre Parmelee of Bishop Miege.

No comments: