Search This Blog

Saturday, December 15, 2007

Mamiya, Bailey share honor

Two football players who put up staggering numbers and another who made staggering hits garnered top postseason honors in the Interscholastic League of Honolulu.

Saint Louis quarterback Micah Mamiya and Damien running back Kama Bailey shared Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Punahou linebacker Manti Te'o was named Defensive Player of the Year after a vote of league coaches.

Mamiya, a 5-foot-9, 170-pound senior, completed 132 of 243 passes for 2,267 yards and 25 touchdowns, with only six interceptions. Most importantly, he helped the Crusaders complete a second straight unbeaten regular season.

Bailey, a 5-8, 165-pound senior, led the state with 2,045 yards and 21 touchdowns on 193 carries, averaging 10.6 yards per carry.

Te'o, a 6-2, 230-pound junior, was a force for the Buffanblu defense all season. He had the quickness to pass rush and man the perimeter, the strength to stop the run on the line of scrimmage, and the speed to drop into coverage.

Saint Louis led the way with nine players selected to the ILH all-star first team: Mamiya, receivers Tamatoa DeMello and Billy Stutzmann, offensive linemen Mana Greig and Tui Tuiasosopo, defensive linemen Ryan Eastman and Geordon Hanohano, linebacker Steven Donohue and defensive back Manoa Latu.

DeMello also was selected as a kick returner.

Kamehameha, Pac-Five and Punahou each were represented by five players. Kamehameha placed offensive lineman Mykenna Ikehara, defensive lineman Jason Campbell, linebacker Ula Nakamura, defensive back Jordan Gomes and all-purpose player Pono Perez.

Pac-Five had offensive lineman Gabe Fernandez, defensive lineman Aaron Tipoti, linebacker Adam Hom, defensive back Ku Botelho and placekicker Josh Mun selected.

Punahou was represented by Te'o, running back Dalton Hilliard, receiver Robbie Toma, offensive lineman Gavin Silva and defensive back Siu Tafuna.

'Iolani receiver Lionel Fujioka and punter Kela Marciel round out the first team.

Saint Louis' Delbert Tengan repeated as Coach of the Year.

No comments: